3rd OWI Wisconsin
3rd DUI Wisconsin
People with two prior OWI convictions face severe penalties if they are arrested for a third OWI. If convicted, you may get a longer jail sentence, pay massive fines, and endure longer license suspension or revocation periods. A resourceful and experienced Wisconsin OWI lawyer can help you navigate the complicated OWI laws. Your lawyer can help you file an appeal, help you minimize criminal penalties or help you with restrictions on your driver license.
Penalties For A Third OWI
A judge will consider things such as a driver’s BAC and other factors to determine the appropriate penalties for an offender. Penalties for a third OWI include:
- Fines: You have to pay a fine of $600 to $2,000 if you are convicted of a third OWI. Drivers that have BAC .17% and above will have their fines doubled while those with a BAC of .20% and above will have their fines quadrupled (fines can reach $8,000). There is also a $435 driver improvement surcharge.
- Jail time: An individual convicted of a third OWI may have to spend 45 days to one year in jail. A 45 day sentence can be reduced to 14 days if the offender agrees to treatment and probation. You face a longer minimum and maximum jail time if you had a child under the age of 16 in the car during the offense.
- Driver’s license suspension and revocation: Your license will be suspended for six months if a test determines that your BAC exceeds legal limits. A judge will revoke your license for two to three years if you are convicted. The revocation period will be doubled if there was a passenger below 16 years of age in the car when the offense was committed.
- Ignition interlock device: You will be made to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. The ignition interlock device (IID) will remain in place for one year after you get a hardship license, or after your driver’s license is reinstated.
You can request a hardship license that allows you to drive from work, school, or treatment after 45 days of suspension or revocation.
Defenses For A Third Offense OWI
You still have a chance of getting your charges dropped or reduced if you have been arrested for a third offense OWI. Your attorney can argue that the police that pulled you over made an illegal stop. Police officers must have probable cause to make traffic stops. If you were not breaking any law when the police pulled you over, the case can be dismissed even if you were driving under the influence.
Another possible defense concerns the strict standards for field sobriety tests and chemical tests. If the procedures were not properly and completely followed, then the results may not be accurate. There are OWI cases that have been dropped because strict professional standards for handling and processing chemical tests were not followed. OWI charges against you may also be dropped if your BAC when you were driving was lower than the legal limit. So contact a resourceful attorney to review your case and prepare a solid case on your behalf.