Milwaukee DUI Lawyer – OWI Attorney in Milwaukee, WI

Milwaukee OWI Attorney

In the state of Wisconsin, drunk driving is referred to as operating a motor vehicle while under the influence or OWI. People caught operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or higher face OWI charges. You don’t have to be driving a vehicle to face this charge because it is targeted at anyone that is controlling any part of the vehicle that is needed to make the vehicle move. For example, you can be charged with an OWI if you are intoxicated and are seated on the driver’s seat of a running but not moving vehicle. The term motor vehicle does not just mean cars and trucks it also includes boats, snowmobiles and other motorized devices.

Any person with a previous OWI conviction is not allowed to operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.02%. Individuals that are under 21 years of age can be charged with an OWI if they are caught operating a vehicle with any trace of alcohol in their systems. Police officers use field sobriety tests as well as chemical tests to measure your blood alcohol concentration. You can also face OWI charges if illegal drugs, legal drugs, or over- the- counter drugs that may cause impaired driving are detected in your system.

Penalties For First OWI Offense

For a first-offense OWI you face the following penalties:

  • Fines of $150-$300 or more depending on the charges
  • Substance abuse assessment
  • A $435 surcharge
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) device in your vehicle depending on the BAC at the time of arrest
  • License suspension for 3 to 6 months
  • License revocation for 6 to 9 months after conviction

Most people do not know that a first OWI offense carries harsh penalties and will on their records forever. Remember these are the records that a future employer or institution may look at when you apply for a job or college.

A Second-Offense OWI

A second OWI is considered a second offence if it occurs within five to ten years after a first OWI offense. A second offense OWI carries the following penalties:

  • A $300 to $1,100 dollar fine or more
  • up to 6 months prison time
  • Your license will also be suspended for a year
  • A mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) in your car

Other OWI offenses after your second OWI conviction will carry more severe penalties. That includes longer jail time, bigger fines, and longer driver’s license suspension periods and so on. You need an experienced OWI attorney to help get your charges reduced or dismissed altogether.

How A Milwaukee OWI Lawyer Can Help

Milwaukee DUI Lawyer - OWI Attorney in Milwaukee, WIAn experienced Milwaukee OWI lawyer knows all the complicated details of OWI laws. The lawyer will investigate the circumstances behind your arrest, and come up with defences that can lead to your charges being reduced or dropped. Your lawyer will tell you what to expect for your specific case and answer all your questions about Milwaukee OWI laws.

You may also be interested in…

  1. Wisconsin Occupational License
  2. First Offense OWI In State Of Wisconsin
  3. OWI Penalties In Wisconsin