Suspended License Attorneys In Milwaukee
Can You Reinstate Your Wisconsin License?
When your license is suspended you are no longer allowed to operate a vehicle. Having your license suspended will limit your freedom of movement and affect your everyday life including your work. The process of having your license reinstated after suspension is not easy. A suspended license attorney can review your case and show you the steps you need to take to get your license back. The Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles can suspend or revoke your driver’s license if your refuse to submit to a sobriety test, or for having a certain number of demerit points in your record.
Suspension vs Revocation
When your license is suspended or revoked, it means you are no longer allowed to operate a vehicle. However, the two terms do not mean the same thing. When they suspend your license it just means that your license is temporarily out of service, but a license revocation means that you license has been cancelled and cannot be reinstated easily. It is obvious that license revocation is for major moving violations, while suspension is for civil offenses without jail time. For example, your license will be revoked for two to three years if you have been convicted of an OWI. You will also have to pay up to $2,000 in fines.
Traffic Violation Demerit Points
You will be assigned demerit points for each moving violation or traffic offense you commit in Wisconsin. The number of points assigned to you depends on the seriousness of the offense or violation. Moving violation points are scored in the following ways:
- Deviation from traffic lane- 4 points
- Improper brakes or lights- 3 points
- Illegal passing- 3 points
- Speeding (20mph or more over the speed limit)-6 points
- Speeding (11 to 19 mph over the speed limit)-4 points
- Failure to give proper signal-3 points
- Driving or operating while license is suspended or revoked-3 points
- Operating with expired license or without license-3 points
- Driving while under the influence-6 points
These are just some of the violations that can lead to you being assigned demerit points. If your points add up to 12 points or more within a period of 12 months then your license will be suspended. The point system works differently for motorcycle riders and for drivers with a commercial driver’s license. For example, a driver with a commercial driver’s license will get 6 points for driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .04% but less than .08%.
Driving With A Suspended License
Driving on a suspended license may lead to you paying $50 to $200 in fines. The amount you will pay depends on why your license was suspended in the first place. These penalties will increase significantly if you hurt someone or damage property while driving with a suspended license. For example, if you are charged with an OWI when you are driving with a suspended license, you may be ordered to pay $2,500 in fines. If you seriously injure someone while driving with a suspended license, the fines may increase to $7,500. So talk to a lawyer to help you get an occupational license that will allow you to drive to work and for other purposes.