Wisconsin Felony Hit & Run

Wisconsin Hit And Run Statute

It is your legal duty to stop immediately if you are sideswiped, rear-ended, or experience any other damage in an accident. Hit and run is called “Duty upon striking person or attended or occupied vehicle” in Wisconsin. Fleeing the scene of an accident even if you are not at-fault can result in serious trouble. You will be charged with a hit and run which can be misdemeanor or felony depending on the circumstances behind the accident.  Penalties after a conviction include paying significant fines and sometimes serving jail time.

Your Obligations Or Duties After An Accident

After stopping your vehicle, you need to do the following:

  • Investigate the damage done to your car and the other driver’s car, and find out if anyone was injured
  • Exchange information such as names, addresses, vehicle registration numbers and more with the other driver involved in the accident
  • Show your driving license to the other driver and ask the other driver to show you their driving license
  • Offer reasonable assistance to any person that is injured or make arrangements for the injured person to be transported to hospital
  • You should report the accident to the police depending on the circumstances

Wisconsin Felony Hit & RunA driver that hits and runs can correct that mistake and avoid hit and run charges by self-reporting within 24 hours of the accident. If you are hurt in a hit and run accident, contact the police right away. The police will make sure that you get emergency medical attention for your injuries.

Penalties For Hit And Run

The following are the penalties resulting from a hit and run conviction:

  • You face a $300-$1,000 fine and no jail time if no one was injured and the property damage was minimal in the accident
  • A maximum $10,000 fine if there is some injury in the accident or up to 9 months jail time
  • Loss of a firearm privileges, certain professional licenses and even voting rights
  • A fine of $50,000 and up to 15 years jail time, if great bodily harm was involved
  • A death resulting from the accident leads to a $100,000 fine and 25 years jail time

Felony D, Felony E Wisconsin

A hit and run case can lead to either a misdemeanor or felony charge depending on how severe the accident was. Hit and run offenses are classified in the following ways:

  • A hit and run becomes a Class B or C misdemeanor if no one was injured and the property damage was minimal
  • It is considered a Class A misdemeanor if there is some injury but no one suffers severe injuries
  • When someone suffers severe injuries it becomes a Class E felony
  • If someone dies in the hit and run incident it becomes a Class D felony

You Will Need A Lawyer

A criminal defense lawyer will make your best case in court if you are facing significant jail time for a hit and run. If you are the victim, your lawyer may help you find alternative ways to get funds for treatment and provide proper representation when the offending driver is caught.